Charlotte News

Charlotte Today News

City Council: New members, new committees


This item first appeared in our morning newsletter, which is delivered Monday through Saturday to more than 7,000 smart subscribers in the Charlotte area. You can become one of them.

One of the perks of being mayor of Charlotte is getting to assign City Council members to various committees.

On Tuesday, Mayor Vi Lyles announced committee assignments for the current council session, which began last week when members were sworn in.

Under a new configuration, some previous committees have now been combined, or their focus areas absorbed into other committees.

One committee now gone: the Environment, Engagement and Equity Committee.

Lyles said those focus areas are now “woven into everything we do, not assigned to one committee…”

Budget, Governance and Intergovernmental Relations Committee
Dimple Ajmera, chair
James Mitchell, vice chair
Danté Anderson
Tariq Bokhari
LaWana Mayfield.

Jobs and Economic Development Committee
Malcolm Graham, chair
Ed Driggs, vice chair
Dimple Ajmera
Victoria Watlington
Marjorie Molina.

Housing, Safety and Community Committee
Victoria Watlington, chair
LaWana Mayfield, vice chair
Tariq Bokhari
Reneé Johnson
Marjorie Molina.

Transportation, Planning and Development Committee
Ed Driggs, chair
Danté Anderson, vice chair
Malcolm Graham
Reneé Johnson
James Mitchell

The mayor also announced that all committees will now meet the first Monday of each month. On the first Monday evening of each month, the meeting of the full City Council will focus on committee topics and discussions.

New committees will meet for the first time on Oct. 3.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × four =